top of page


The Parish Council consists of 7 councillors who represent the village on various matters. The Parish Council is the third tier of local Government, the others being Breckland District Council and Norfolk County Council.

Our Councillors
Councillor Kathryn Horton 

Councillor James Howells

Councillor Lynsay Barrett

Councillor Alexandra Leaney

Councillor Chris Rose

Tom1 _edited.jpg
Councillor Tom Bland

The Role of a Councillor


They are elected to represent the interest of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected Councillors depends on the size of the area, in East Tuddenham we are able to have 7 Councillors.


Local Councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'Local Council' is synonymous with ' Parish Council, 'Town Council' and 'Community Council'.


Local Councils are made up of locally  elected Councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least four meetings a year.  Most meet on a monthly cycle to discuss council business and hear from local residents.  District and County Councillors regularly attend parish meetings and report at the Annual Parish meeting. Councillors are expected to attend meetings on a regular basis.​

Councillors must abide by a Code of Conduct, a set of rules on how Councillors are expected to behave. They must also declare their financial interests in the parish, details of which are kept by the District Council.

bottom of page